A Machine That Never Sleeps

newyorkpic
I was recently introduced to an article about Woody Allen. Here is a legend, who has relentlessly created 48 feature movies, one after the other. 77 years old. Still working.

It’s funny to me that my dream has always been to end up on some beach somewhere, financially independent and completely worry-free, considering the fact that in order to get there, I work relentlessly – though not as hard as Woody Allen, apparently.

Like him, I am almost NEVER satisfied with a complete day’s work. Because I want to do more.

I don’t see the full picture of my life. I just imagine what the end looks like, and God sends me bread crumbs to follow. I follow them faithfully, and more of them get revealed. I don’t know what it will take to get what I am seeking, but I know one thing for sure: that I will get it, God willing.

If that means I need to learn to speak different languages, if I need to become a stand-up comedian, a journalist, a computer nerd, a scientific expert, and/or an opera singer to get there, so be it. I’ll tackle them all, one at a time.

The point is this: there is always going to be more work to do, even after we think we have hit the end goal.

I finished my work for the day ahead of schedule. Yet my endless list of things to do has another task to complete.

I’ve already started. I guess I can’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

