Image-Bearers of God

I’ve had the privilege of meeting with so many future world-changers lately. Many of them are a lot younger than I am. Many of them have gotten their act together a lot sooner than I did.

The temptation is to feel regret about how many years I wasted behaving less than my best. How much further ahead could I be today if I was one of them?

But then I had a thought:

We are image-bearers of God. If God works together all things for good (Romans 8:28), can we not do the same? Can we not profit even from our past folly as long as we keep our eyes on Him and do what He tells us?

I’ve heard it wisely put that God prefers redemption to perfection. Scripturally, He seems to have a habit of using broken vessels.

The liar wants us to believe otherwise.

It’s a good idea to take it to the throne room and ask:

What other lies are we believing about our capability? About our destiny? What does our Father have for us in return?

Leave a Reply

