A word about change in this season.

on

I don’t know quite what it is I am feeling, but I believe in many ways everything has changed. Everything I know about everything has shifted in some way. I can’t describe it or put my finger on it. I just know something has shifted.

People are changing. In my own life I’ve seen quite a few people change drastically in the past couple months. Huge changes in their demeanor. Many for the better. Many for the worse. I’ve seen many people who have progressed in this past season actually move backwards. I believe to some degree it is because they are not ready to shift forward.

Politics has changed. It doesn’t take a political expert to point out the huge, gaping differences between this election cycle and the one four years ago. Would anybody have predicted Donald Trump or Bernie Sanders would have a fighting chance at a run for President of the United States?

 

Religion has changed. I don’t believe church is going to be church the way we know it for very long. I believe very strongly that the old model of doing things is dead — and those churches that fail to change the way they do church.. well, they may not be around for much longer. At the very least they won’t be relevant to the times.

I’m not sure how else to explain these things that I feel in my spirit except to look back at this post in a few months and measure the differences. People will be in new relationships. They will have changed jobs. Changed religions. Switched political parties.

The very foundation which people have been standing on for a long time has been, is being, shaken. I can only say that this is a spiritual phenomena. And if this sounds vague — it is.

There has been a moving, a shifting, an awakening. It has snuck up on people like a thief in the night. Those who have been positioning themselves in the expectation of this change are set up for promotion. Those who have not will probably find themselves having an identity crisis.

See, the truth of the matter is, nothing is ever stagnant. As a general spiritual principle, there is always movement. Always. If we’re not moving forward, we’re moving backwards. If we’re not growing, we’re dying. And by trying to cling on to the same ol’ same, we are pretty much choosing to deteriorate in some way.

But this is different. Something significant has happened. Earth-shaking significant.

I suppose we will watch and see.

He makes all things new.

Leave a Reply

