The Ugly Duckling

 

There are some times in our lives when we really doubt ourselves. There are times when we just don’t seem to fit the part.

We don’t appear to be getting ahead, no matter how hard we try. Others in positions of authority don’t seem to be noticing our contributions.

What the hell were we thinking anyway trying out something so audacious?

But we fail to consider that the appearance of getting ahead isn’t the same as truly getting ahead.

We fail to consider that people in positions of authority might be threatened by our prospective rise and perhaps intentionally or unintentionally sabotage our efforts.

I never understood why life worked this way. Why must the biggest rises be preceded by the biggest failures? Why is it that the first is last and the last is first? Why do we have to lose our lives so we can save them?

I always wondered why it seemed like God didn’t rescue me from the most difficult trials of my life. I always wondered why other people seemed to be handed the keys when they had the biggest character flaws.

But I underestimated myself.

I was called for higher things. Things that I couldn’t fathom at the time. The reason I wasn’t suited for good things was because I was called to do great things.

I have found that it’s usually the most brilliant people that doubt themselves.

I’m not saying I’m the most brilliant guy out there, but I do have my own areas of competence. I’m confident in my own abilities. I won’t hide that fact.

Sometimes I think the entire process of moving past doubt into confidence is a sort of entry-level testing. Before we are thrown into office, we must be trained.

Trained not only in ability and in craft, but trained in humility and self-discipline.

By the time we realize that we never fit in anywhere because we were the swan and not the duckling, we just may have learned that no matter how high we rise, there are some things that are more important than promotion.

Leave a Reply

