You will know them by their fruit.

Being prophetic is a tricky business.

As human beings, we are certainly not infallible. When it comes to knowing things supernaturally, quite frankly there isn’t always proof (at least not right away) that the voice in our head is necessarily of God or if we might have a filter that is affecting our ability to hear properly.

I am in a season (and probably will be for the rest of my days until the second coming) where I am being tasked with trusting that I hear God in the face of seemingly contradictory information to the instruction I’ve received. So far I’ve been sticking to the plan and doing what God has told me to do, but it hasn’t been easy.

I’ve taken precautions — as we all should. I have a multitude of wise counselors. I make sure to ask Him if I have any sin in my life, if I have any idols, if I have any open doors, if I am being influenced by the enemy in any way. I try my best to talk to Him all day, every day like I would talk to my wife. I want to make sure nothing is affecting my filter.

Now I am being faced with a new challenge.

Other people claiming to hear from God are starting to refute some of the things that God has told me. I’ve watched some of these people move in power, prophesy accurately, heal supernaturally. I’ve seen it with my eyes. How do I know they aren’t right and I’m not wrong?

Well, if you read the title of this post, you already know the answer to that one.

Jesus said, “You will know them by their fruits.”

I’m not saying these people don’t walk with God, don’t hear Him, don’t love Him, or aren’t going to Heaven. It’s just that I know for a fact that it is a spiritual reality that compromise in heart leads to open doors which lead to fallible discernment and questionable wisdom.

I’m not saying I’m necessarily right in these mysteries either, or that I don’t ever sin or fall into these categories that might dirty my spiritual lens.

I’m saying that when we are sincere about keeping our heart clean, we can move more or less in certainty that we hear Him clearly. I believe even if we are wrong, He is quick to get us back on track (we call that grace). And  in my (relatively limited) experiences, I’ve tended to see inaccurate prophetic words almost always partnered with compromises in character.

This will open another rabbit trail that I will not address in this post: compromise in character, in my opinion, is rarely about momentary behavior, so much as it is about a flaw in our identity. It’s not a sin here or there that necessarily affects our walk or our lens so much as it is the identity we walk in that makes missing the mark a regular occurrence.

It’s not about what you do or don’t do. It’s about who you are.

 

Leave a Reply

